Dust off the old Xbox it is worth more than you think

xbox11

Ok, I have an Xbox the old one that is black and has lots of dust on it since I got tired of playing Halo 2.  My Wii is now the sweetheart of all of my gaming fun. 

So last week my friend asked me if I still owned my old Xbox and I said “yeah” but it almost did not make my move to my new house since I never use it anymore.  I was surprised when he then offered me $75 dollars for it.  He then asked me if I knew you can store like 400 DVD’s on that thing?  His good friend set up all of his home entertainment through an old Xbox.  I’m thinking I may check this out, If I can get enough free time I may try to convert my Xbox into the home media center.  I don’t know if I am smart enough but the article below promises that it can be done in 30 minutes. 

The funny thing is that what was once considered almost junk is making a comeback!  Of course this requires the old technology to be  modified and reconfigured.  This could be a wave of the future taking old electronics and making them useful once again.  Basically teaching old electronics new tricks.

xbmc-application1

http://www.productwiki.com/microsoft-xbox/article/how-to-go-from-xbox-to-xbox-media-center-in-30-minutes.html

Wikipedia refers to this as E-Waste or E-scrap a term used broadly for all leftover electronics.   Other Electronics that are fully recyclable include;

• Cell Phones
• Ink Jet Printer Cartridges
• DVD Movies & Videogames
• Portable DVD Players
• Laptop Computers
• MP3 Players
• X-Boxes, Sony Playstations, Wii
• Digital Cameras & Digital Video Cameras (DVRs)
• Digital Picture Frames
• Portable Navigation & GPS Devices (Garmin, Magellan, Tom-Tom)

There are places all over the Internet that are interested in taking these off of your hands.  Some for good causes and others will just make a small contribution to your wallet instead. 

Completely non Tech related:  Finally, I thought it was interesting that in college I had 3 bikes stolen from me most of them worth about $200.00 so I caried this huge bar around made out of Kryptonite.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sc/news?slug=ap-armstrong-bikestolen&prov=ap&type=lgns

armstrong

Well the most famous cyclist in the world Lance Armstrong just got his stolen.  He kind of needs it back.  Reminds me of Pee Wee’s big adventure.   “There’s no basement in the Alamo!”

1 comment so far

  1. critanime on

    Thats cool about the xbox’s. They were easily modded because I had linux running on mine for a while. Might have to dust mine down 😉


Leave a Reply

